Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(430) : eval()'d code on line 111
How to stop drinking
Page 1 of 1073 12311511015011001 ... Last

How to stop drinking

Use this thread to continue discussion from this page here:

How to stop drinking on your own

I successfully stayed abstinent from alcohol for over 12 years while raising my three daughters, and now that I find myself alone, I struggle with a feeling of intense emptiness (I realize this is an oxymoron, but still the best way to describe how I feel). I drink when I find myself alone, and then regret it terribly the next day, as I can't safely drink at all. AA worked for me earlier in my life, but I really dislike it now. I need support, however, and friends who don't drink. What should I do?

This is my first time trying to post anything, and I'm a bit intimidated, but here goes. I found the older version of this website last week and started reading through the old posts. I had intended to wait until I had read them all before starting to participate, but the reason I googled "How to stop drinking" and found this website was to get help, and today I think I would like to avail myself of the help I've seen from so many of the posts, and maybe a little bit of my story will also help someone else, as yours have mine.