Thread: Day 3...

Day 3...

Hi, I'm Melissa. I live in So Cal, married with 2 kids (14 & 12).

Took this 3-day weekend to quit drinking. I was also switched to a different antidepressant Friday, so I wanted to use that as a motivator.

For me, drinking 1 bottle a day, was a "good day". And if I waited until 5:00, even better. But, usually, I'd make up for it the next day & drink 2 to nearly 3 bottles...

I run a construction business with my husband & work at home. My desk is in my bedroom. It's very isolating & way too easy to get away with a hangover at work & drink while working.

The business is also struggling, so it's very stressful & it's work I've been doing for 14 years, so it's very mundane. Also, my husband often doesn't listen to me & treat me like the partner I am.

Over the last 18 months, money & stress got much worse & I gradually lost hope, became very depressed, started drinking much more than before & now it's a flat out habit.

Day 3 of no alcohol & I wanted to pickup around the house, but I'm so used to having a drink while doing so. The house is pretty trashed. Our dishwasher broke Saturday morning, barely a clean dish left & the laundry is insane, but I can't bring myself to tackle it without a drink!! So I'm back in bed watching movies. Told my husband he & the boys will have to do it. Hoping to go for a walk & get some sun (vit D) later. Also, took a GABA supplement & vit C. Supposed to help to relax. I quit drinking for 3 months before & that helped, but my drinking is much worse this time around.

Hoping this gets easier. Glad to have found this forum.
    Last edited by Melissa2; 09-05-2016 at 01:34 PM.

Hi Melissa,
    Congrats on day 3..:-)
    Come join us on the how to stop drinking thread.. Lots of good advice for ya there..

Chad
    “Well, if it can be thought, it can be done, a problem can be overcome”

Hey Melissa!